Count Down Then Count Up

This summer marks the time when my world came crashing down around me. I am not normally a numbers person, however looking at the timeline of major events in my life has given me perspective to what I have been through—and where I am going next.

To start, I look back over the years and countdown the difficulties that I have encountered.

10 years ago, I took a six month trip that changed my world, my perspective and my heart. I didn’t know what my future would hold, not the particulars anyways, but I felt victorious. I was going to change the world!

8 years ago, the market crashed. Jobs, income, and adulting all together became increasingly difficult. Part-time jobs, sign holding for advertisement, nanny jobs and living off of parent’s generosity was the survival rate across America. My own world was spiraling down and I kept looking for a lifeline.

396 days ago, my life hit rock bottom and then some. Everything I held dear was lost or taken. I had only my knees and a desperate prayer on my lips.

397 days ago, my life started climbing back up, inch by little inch, I was determined to climb out of this hell. I had a part time job, blessed by my landlords who took me in to their home, sought out a community and prayed daily for at least one friend that I could chill with.

Accepting the pain is part of the healing process. Being hurt is part of being alive. But that is no reason to throw in the towel. With that in mind—Now I can count up!

2 months of officially belonging in a community and starting school at the same time!

3 months until I reach my 1 year goal of blogging. I have gained perspective, my heart has healed and I have encouraged others through this blogging experience.

9 months until I graduate from this school program! I cannot wait to see what next spring will bring with its endless possibilities.

1 year and 1 month of healing from a shattered heart and soul has grown my character. I am now at a place to be grateful for my life’s experience. I have climbed out of some of the deepest valleys, now I can enjoy the view, appreciating the scars and learning from the past.

Here’s to looking in the past only to look forward with renewed strength!

FullSizeRender (8)

***Follow me on Facebook and Instagram @heres2grownups for random blurbs and post updates. I will–hopefully–be posting a blog every Monday and Thursday! Feel free to comment and tell me your story. Also if anyone is on good terms with Ellen Degeneres, I’d love to get noticed by her!

Leave a Reply

